CS 520, Intelligent Systems

Fall 2011 Schedule


The schedule has seven sections:

  1. Problem Solving by Search

  2. Knowledge and Reasoning

  3. Planning

  4. Uncertainty

  5. Machine Learning

  6. Unsupervised Learning

  7. Natural Language Processing

Linked material from the ACM and the IEEE can be downloaded for free from within the monmouth.edu domain.

Section 1: Problem Solving by Search, Friday, 9 September through Wednesday, 21 September.

Readings
Poole and Mackworth: Chapter 3, States and Searching

Class notes
Introduction
What are Intelligent Systems?
Solving by Search
Basic State-Space Searches
Search Refinements

Section 2: Knowledge and Reasoning, Friday, 23 September through Wednesday, 5 October.

Readings
Poole and Mackworth: Chapter 5, Propositions and Inference

Class notes
Knowledge Bases
Reasoning
Advanced Representations

Assignment
Assignment 1 available on Friday, 23 September; due on Wednesday, 19 October at 11:30 p.m.

Quiz
Wednesday, 5 October
The answers.
The grades.

Section 3: Planning, Friday, 7 October through Wednesday, 19 October.

Readings
Poole and Mackworth: Chapter 8, Planning with Certainty

Class notes
Planning
Planning Examples
Basic Planning
Advanced Planning

Section 4: Uncertainty, Friday, 21 October through Wednesday, 2 November.

Midterms grades due — Tuesday, 25 October.

Readings
Poole and Mackworth: Chapter 6, Reasoning Under Uncertainty

Class notes
Uncertainty
Belief Networks
Probabilistic Inference
Markov Models

Assignment
Assignment 2 available on Friday, 21 October; due on Wednesday, 16 November at 11:30 p.m.

Quiz
Wednesday, 2 November
The answers.
The grades.

Section 5: Machine Learning, Friday, 4 November through Wednesday, 16 November.

Drop day — Tuesday, 8 November.

Readings
Poole and Mackworth: Chapter 7, Learning: Overview and Supervised Learning

Class notes
Introduction
Basic Learning
Advanced Learning

Section 6: Unsupervised Learning, Friday, 18 November through Wednesday, 30 November.

Readings
Poole and Mackworth: Chapter 11, Beyond Supervised Learning

Class notes
Clustering
Learning Belief Networks
Markov Decision Processes
Reinforcement Learning

Assignment
Assignment 3 available on Friday, 18 November; due on Wednesday, 14 December at 11:30 p.m.

Quiz
Wednesday, 30 November
The answers.
The grades.

Section 7: Natural Language Processing, Friday, 2 December through Wednesday, 14 December.

Readings
The Role of Frame-Based Representation in Reasoning by Richard Fikes and Tom Kehler in Communications of the ACM, September 1985 (v. 28, n. 9)

Class notes
Frames
Description Logics

Final exam from 1-3 p.m. on Tuesday, 21 December in HH 316.

This page last modified on 2011 September 5.

Creative
    Commons License