Syllabus for CS 306, Computer Algorithms II

Fall 2008


The syllabus has seven two-week sections:

  1. Introduction and Review

  2. Hashing

  3. Exhaustive Search and Heuristics

  4. Trees

  5. Greed

  6. Graphs

  7. Divide and Conquer

Section 1 – Introduction and Review, Tuesday, 2 September to Thursday, 11 September.

Class notes
Introduction
Dynamic Storage and C++
Recursion Basics
Asymptotic Estimation

Quiz - Tuesday, 16 September
The answers.

Section 2 – Hashing, Tuesday, 16 September to Thursday, 25 September.

Class notes
Hashing Basics
Implementing Hash Tables
Hashing In Practice
Pop Quiz

Assignment
Assignment 1 (last modified on 14 October 2008) available on Tuesday, 16 September; due on Tuesday, 7 October at 5:30 p.m.

Quiz - Tuesday, 30 September
The answers.

Section 3 – Exhaustive Search and Heuristics, Tuesday, 30 September to Thursday, 9 October.

Class notes
Exhaustive Search
Heursitics
Exhaustive Search in Practice

Assignment
Assignment 1 due on Tuesday, 14 October at 5:30 p.m.

Assignment 2 (last modified on 20 October 2008) available on Tuesday, 7 October; due on Tuesday, 28 October at 5:30 p.m.

Problem presentation
2 October, R. Clayton, Collinear points.

Quiz - Tuesday, 14 October
The answers.

Section 4 – Trees, Tuesday, 14 October to Thursday, 23 October.

Mid-term grades due - 23 October

Class notes
Trees
Balanced Trees
M-Way Trees

Problem presentations
23 October, J. Orfan, Flooded.

Quiz - Tuesday, 28 October
The answers.

Section 5 – Greed, Tuesday, 28 October to Thursday, 6 November.

Drop day - 6 November

Class notes
Greed
Greed in Practice

Assignment
Assignment 2 due on Tuesday, 28 October at 5:30 p.m.

Assignment 3 (last modified on 20 October 2008) available on Tuesday, 28 October; due on Tuesday, 18 November at 5:30 p.m.

Problem presentations
28 October, J. Apgar, Getting in Line.
30 October, P. Githens, Counting on Cantor.
6 November, R. Clayton, Robot Treasure Hunt.

Quiz - Tuesday, 11 November
The answers.

Section 6 – Graphs, Tuesday, 11 November to Thursday, 20 November.

Assignment
Assignment 3 due on Tuesday, 18 November at 5:30 p.m.

Assignment 4 (last modified on 10 December 2008) available on Tuesday, 18 November; due on Thursday, 11 December at 5:30 p.m.

Class Notes
Graph Basics
Graph Algortihms
Traveling, Flowing, and Matching

Problem presentations
18 November, J. Orfan, The Marble.
20 November, J. Apgar, Borrowers.

Quiz - Tuesday, 25 November
The answers.

Section 7 – Divide and Conquer, Tuesday, 25 November to Thursday, 4 December.

No class - 27 November, Thanksgiving.

Class Notes
Divide and Conquer
Divide and Conquer in Practice

Assignment
Assignment 4 due on Thursday, 11 December at 5:30 p.m.

Problem presentations
25 November, P. Githens, Prime Factors.

Quiz - Tuesday, 9 December
The answers.


This page last modified on 20 October 2008.